DiMaria, Action Party take Morton Grove again

In Morton Grove, on the other hand, saw no upsets whatsoever. In the village government the Action Party slate continued its long streak of victories. All of the candidates that were nominated for this election won by a significant margin against an unofficial slate of independent candidates.

Incumbent mayor Dan DiMaria got 75.15 percent of the vote, which amounted to 2,350 votes. Challenger Daniel J. Staackmann got 24.85 percent, which was only 777 votes.

In the village board races, incumbent trustee Bill Grear, Ed Ramos and Connie Travis won by smaller, but still sizable margins. Grear got 2,112 votes, while Ramos got 2,080 and Travis got 1,966. Former Morton Grove library trustee Mark Albers got 870 votes, while Jeannine Como earned 884 votes and Mary White earned 838 votes.

The Morton Grove Park District Board of Commissioners saw two incumbents – Keith White and Mark Manno – running unopposed. Morton Grove Library Board of Trustees only saw one candidate, Emily Macejak, running for three vacant seats. Even though the outcome of the race was assured, she got 2,415 votes.

Leave a Reply