District 58 honors Herrick, O’Neill eighth graders


O’Neill Middle School eighth graders received their promotion certificates at Downers Grove North June 2 at 5 p.m.

The promotion included the Pledge of Allegiance by student council vice president Mackenzie Barton and a promotion speech, titled “It’s Only Just Begun,” by student council president Jillian Scott.

Superintendent Kari Cremascoli presented the Pride of O’Neill certificates to Megan Seranko and Kira Matheson. Dick Rooney of the American Legion presented this year’s American Legion Awards to Mackenzie Johnson and Matthew Johnson.

Herrick Middle School eighth graders were promoted at Downers Grove North June 2 at 7 p.m. The promotion opened with the Pledge of Allegiance and Class of 2016 Address by eighth grade student Erin Miller.

The American Legion’s Ed Ludwig was joined by Social Studies teacher Dave Bolton to present this year’s American Legion Awards to Molly Smith and Cameron Demos. Assistant Principal Amy Gray presented the Barb Blumenschein Awards to Ish Mistry, Miles Teague, Lily Wenger and Emilija Irvin. This special award is named in honor of former beloved Herrick teacher Barb Blumenschein, who passed away in 2005.

Leave a Reply