Lester School in Downers Grove wins $8,000 in Yorktown Center contest

Photo courtesy of District 58 Community Relations. Yorktown Marketing and Business Development Manager Erin Falbo, left, and Yorktown General Manager Todd Hiepler present Lester School Principal Carin Novak with a check for $8,000.



Yorktown Center staff visited Lester School on June 8 to present the school with an $8,000 check for winning first place in the Yorktown Center School Bucks program. The check presentation took place during an outdoor all-school assembly before Lester’s Field Day kicked off.

“Lester appreciates the incredible community support that helped us win this fantastic prize,” said Lester Principal Carin Novak. “Thank you, Yorktown Center, for your commitment to education. We are so excited to use this funding to improve our school!”

The Yorktown Center School Bucks program awards shoppers points based on each dollar spent at Yorktown stores and restaurants. Shoppers could choose which elementary school to award their points. In addition to Lester School winning the contest, three other District 58 schools earned prizes. Henry Puffer School won $2,000 for taking third place, and Herrick Middle School and Belle Aire School each won $1,000 for coming in fourth and fifth places, respectively.

Lester, Henry Puffer, Herrick and Belle Aire will each use the prize money to purchase new resources to enhance their school. For example, Lester plans to donate their $8,000 winnings to the Lester PTA Playground Committee for the school’s future inclusive playground.

“Our primary goal is to give back to our community in a meaningful way,” said Todd Hiepler, Yorktown Center general manager. “By choosing the local educational system as our platform, we get to see direct results from our donations implemented into the schools that contribute to the future well-being of the communities that support Yorktown Center. We have already received positive feedback from the participating schools. We hope to grow the School Bucks program next year to further reward our loyal, local shoppers and enhance the students’ educational experiences.”

District 58 congratulates all of this year’s winning schools:

  1. Lester School (District 58)
  2. Montini Catholic High School
  3. Henry Puffer School (District 58)
  4. Herrick Middle School (District 58)
  5. Belle Aire School (District 58)
  6. Westfield Middle School
  7. Elmwood Elementary School
  8. Madison Elementary School
  9. Marquette Manor Baptist Academy




Leave a Reply